Searching For The Outrage Over Amazon

Neal Pollard

Maybe you have heard about the generous pledge made by Jeff and MacKenzie Bezos to help pass a same-sex marriage referendum in the state of Washington.  Bezos, founder of Amazon, intends to give $2.5 million to this cause.  The obvious, anticipated question is, “Where is the outrage over this decision?”  Bezos did not merely affirm his point of view about marriage, he backed it up by enriching the ability of proponents of the measure more than two-fold.  No mayors are urging a boycott of Amazon, no news stories decrying the bias or prejudice of the Bezos family.  Instead, what media coverage I’ve seen and heard has been decidedly positive.

Certainly, none of this should surprise us.  The devil has control of this world, as it has been throughout earth’s history.  The world’s course of thinking has always “won” the day with the majority.  The Bible tells us as much.  Paul wrote, “And you were dead in your trespasses and sins, in which you formerly walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, of the spirit that is now working in the sons of disobedience. Among them we too all formerly lived in the lusts of our flesh, indulging the desires of the flesh and of the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, even as the rest” (Eph. 2:1-3).  He also said that the god of this world has blinded the minds of unbelievers (2 Co. 4:4).

It seem to me that it is right to be outraged by the hypocrisy of the media’s handling of Dan Cathy’s statement and Jeff Bezos’ obscenely large donation, but don’t be surprised by it.  John simply says, “Do not be surprised, brethren, if the world hates you” (1 Jn. 3:13).  Jesus said, “If the world hates you, you know that it has hated Me before it hated you” (Jn. 15:18).  See, our values and convictions were not formed from our own thoughts and feelings.  We simply seek to stand by, defend, and be guided by what the Bible says on the matter of both marriage and homosexuality.  Maybe we should stop waiting for the world to accept the beliefs we hold, and instead try to lovingly, patiently teach them and know that those open to God’s will are going to accept it.  The rest will simply follow the course of this world.

About preacherpollard

preacher, Bear Valley church of Christ, Denver, Colorado
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Searching For The Outrage Over Amazon

  1. Pingback: You Never Know What You’re Going To Get! « The Fellowship Room

  2. A very thoughtful conclusion!

    I struggled, briefly, with this announcement. My first reaction was to stop shopping on Amazon.com for the things I buy for myself and work. I spend too much time and money purchasing items on Amazon because they have extremely competitive pricing and excellent service. This would certainly make some reactionary “Chrisitian” organizations like the American Family Association proud of me. But I detest and consider it un-Christian to penalize someone, by boycotting them, just because they advertise or sell products to people who do not love God or honor His Word.

    Then we have Steve Balmer and the Gates’ contribution to the advancement of Marriage Equality (sic). Do I refuse to work with Microsoft products, too? My livelihood depends on administering Microsoft servers and products. Do I never again step into a Starbucks because they also contributed to this effort?

    The more I thought about it, the more I considered the fact that while we are not of the world, we are unfortunately immersed in it just by being alive. I cannot escape all the profanity, nudity, selfishness and meanness that go on around me. I can only refuse to participate in it actively. I cannot sensibly stop being around people who curse, or lie, or cheat our their spouses. If I did avoid them I would be abdicating my responsibility to be light in the world.

    So, just how should Christians react to these things?

    I conclude that we must give an opinion, when asked for one, that is based on God’s Word. We must live righteous lives and rather than make sinners our enemies, pray for them and be kind to them in spite of their sins. Isn’t that what we are ultimately called to do? This doesn’t mean we should imply approval or have a nonchalant attitude about these matters. But, as Paul said, “Who am I to judge outsiders?” My responsibility is to stand for truth without compromise, but to do so gently and with love. I am not supposed to antagonize unbelievers, but take comfort in the simple words of John ‘Raccoon’ Smith, “Kindness is the best revenge.”

    So, I will continue to shop wherever I can get decent products for myself and my company the cheapest and fastest and sell my stuff to anyone who wants to buy it. Even if they are a Satanist.
    And I will pray for people like Jeff Bezos, Bill and Melinda Gates, that they might have their hearts opened to the truth since they have been blinded by the god of this world. These actions are persecutions of a sort. They will only lead to more vilification of the Christian world view. But…..

    “”You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven. For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.” (Matthew 5:43-45)

Leave a Reply

